Vilsack names food safety panel members

Vilsack names food safety panel members

The USDA Secretary has named 15 new members and 5 returning members to the Nationwide Advisory Committee on Meat and Poultry Inspection (NACMPI).

Members of the committee are chosen based mostly on their experience in meat and poultry security, public well being, and different Meals Security and Inspection Service (FSIS) insurance policies.

“We’re proud to announce the brand new committee members to NACMPI and grateful for his or her dedication to assist meals security and public well being,” mentioned Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack. “These members’ various experience and recommendation will assist USDA as we advance our necessary meals security mission.”

The NACMPI consists of 20 members and supplies recommendation and suggestions to the Secretary of Agriculture on meals security considerations and different issues affecting inspection program actions, together with meals security insurance policies that may contribute to USDA’s regulatory coverage growth.

The USDA says the NACMPI has made necessary contributions to a broad vary of vital meals issues of safety. The committee experiences are mentioned to supply present info and recommendation to FSIS and function a basis for laws and packages aimed toward lowering foodborne illness and enhancing public well being.

The newly appointed NACMPI members appointed to serve a two-year time period are:

Dr. Mary Anne Amalaradjou – College of Connecticut, Tolland, CT.
Sharon Birkett – OSI Group, LLC, Bolingbrook, IL.
Dr. Dianna Viola Bourassa – Auburn College, Auburn, AL.
Dr. Byron D. Chaves – College of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, NE.
Dr. Vanessa Coffman – Alliance to Cease Foodborne Sickness, Chicago, IL.
Dr. James Richard Dillon – State of Texas, Austin, Texas.
Scott Lee Filbrandt – Bob’s Processing Inc., South Haven, MI.
Dr. James Harbey Hollis – South Carolina Meat-Poultry Inspection Division, Columbus, SC.
James Kincheloe – Heart for Science within the Public Curiosity, Washington, D.C.
Dr. Paul Steven Kuber – Washington State College, Spokane, WA.
Anastacia Marie Larkin – Cougle Fee Firm, Schererville, IN.
Ali Mohseni-Motlagh – American Meals Group LLC, Newton Sq., PA.
Patrick Robinette – Micro Summit Processors, Pinetops, NC.
Dr. James Rogers – Meals Security Analysis and Testing, Shopper Experiences, Bowie, MD.
Desiree Claire Ann Wineland – American Butchers LLC / Past the Butchers, Cambridge, NE.

The re-appointed NACMPI members are:

William Battle – Magnolia Processing Inc. DBA Delight of The Pond, Tunica, MS.
Casey Lynn Gallimore – North American Meat Institute, Shawnee, KS.
Dr. Joseph Harris – Southwest Meat Affiliation, Franklin, Texas
Teresa Schwartz – Retired Legislation Professor, Washington, D.C.
Dr. Byron Williams – Mississippi State College, Brandon, MS.

FSIS will announce an upcoming committee assembly and matters when extra info is obtainable, which will likely be posted on the FSIS Occasions & Conferences web page and printed in a future Constituent Replace.

The NACMPI was established in 1971 to advise the Secretary of Agriculture regarding state and federal packages with respect to meat and poultry inspection, meals security, and different issues that fall throughout the scope of the Federal Meat Inspection Act and the Poultry Merchandise Inspection Act. The committee is made up of state and native authorities officers and members from academia, public well being organizations, and business and shopper organizations.

(To enroll in a free subscription to Meals Security Information, click on right here.)

Related posts

Prison move temporarily cuts Michael Parnell’s ties with his lawyer during 11th Circuit action


A new CSPI national poll indicates an overwhelming favorable public response to the labeling change


Report finds an enormous increase in the number of food items recalled in 2022


Leave a Comment